How I Passed The AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner with a Perfect Score

Kiet Luu
4 min readOct 19, 2023

--

Last Sunday, I successfully passed my AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner (CLF-C02) exam with a perfect score. In this article, I’ll take you through my journey of taking this exam, along with some valuable tips for those planning to take this certification.

A Glimpse into My Cloud Computing Journey

My journey into cloud computing began at the start of this semester when I was performing some hands-on lab work within the AWS management console. This was part of my “Intro to Cloud Architecture” course at my current university.

In the beginning of September, I decided to start learning about AWS on my own with the foundational certification of AWS.

In addition, I am approaching my completion of my bachelor’s degree in Computer Information Systems and I thought that the AWS certifications would be an invaluable addition to my resume.

AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner Overview
This is an introductory certification that will give you a high-level overview of cloud computing, AWS core services, benefits and advantages of the cloud. There are 65 questions with 100 minutes and the grading scale is between 100–1000, you will need to achieve a 700 score to pass the certification. After passing the exam, you will get a 50% OFF voucher for your next exam, how neat!

If you’re new to the world of cloud computing, I strongly advise considering this certification. It offers a comprehensive introduction to AWS services and essential cloud concepts. Plus, the voucher for your next exam makes it even more appealing.

My Study Strategy

I opted for Stephan Maarek’s course on Udemy. You can find his course here (non-affiliated link). A little tip: do not pay the full price on Udemy, you can usually grab courses on the platform for 80–90% OFF. If your browser is showing the full price, try going into incognito mode and see if they’re on sale.

Before taking the exam, it’s beneficial to do the practice exams so you can get a feel of the actual ones. Stephane and his team have also developed practice exams that you can use for self-assessment and study. The practice exam is challenging, I averaged between 70–80% on it. However, the actual exam was much easier than the practice exam.

Stephan’s course alone itself is not sufficient enough for you to pass the exam. I highly recommend getting the practice exams and making it a daily habit to practice them during the week leading up to your scheduled exam date. Additionally, the AWS Whitepaper is also an invaluable study resource. AWS offers a wealth of information that you can benefit from while preparing for the exam. Before you sit for the exam, be sure to review the AWS CCP Study Guide.

Online Pearson VUE Exam Preparation

If you are planning to take the exam online, you will not want to miss the next information. First, take the time to review the exam policies and FAQs. Secondly, make sure that your computer meets all the necessary testing requirements. The technical compatibility check will be conducted using Pearson VUE’s online proctoring software, which happens to be the same software you’ll use to complete the exam.

My Online Experience

This was my second experience taking a certification exam with Pearson VUE online. Unlike the first time, it wasn’t as nerve-wracking. This was partly due to my prior experience when I took the CompTIA A+ certification for the first time. Well actually, this was my third attempt taking the online exams with Pearson VUE because the A+ certification comprises two separate exams — Core 1 and Core 2.

My exam was scheduled for 9:15 pm, and I checked in at 8:45 pm, which was 30 minutes before the exam was set to begin. As per the examination protocol, I had to capture a series of images — a selfie, a shot of my ID, and four pictures from different angles around my computer (left, right, in front, and behind). Once I had submitted these photos, I had to wait for the proctor to check in which was around another 10 to 15 minutes.

I hope the insights and tips I’ve shared in this article are helpful to your certification journey. When you start your own study, just keep in mind that learning and staying determined can help you a lot. Try to make studying a regular part of your daily routine to keep moving forward. Finally, good luck if you are taking the exam!

--

--